Tax Analysts®Tax Analysts®

My Subscriptions:

Press Releases

December 10, 2012
State Tax Notes Announces Its Best of 2012
FALLS CHURCH, Va.– State Tax Notes and State Tax Today, Tax Analysts’ publications on current state and local taxation issues, today announced its “Best of 2012” second annual awards featuring the best in state tax policy and practice in five categories.

According to the magazine, “the Person of the Year Award is given to the individual who had the most influence on state tax policy and practice. The Tax Lawyer of the Year Award is given to the attorney considered the most influential in forwarding a novel legal approach. The Organization of the Year is awarded to the group that is relied on the most for tax information by those inside and outside the profession. The Tax Administrator of the Year is awarded to an official who influences administration and collection nationwide. And the Tax Lawmaker of the Year is awarded to a legislator influential in developing new approaches in state tax law.”

The Person of the Year Award goes to Michael Herbert, a partner in the San Francisco office of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP's State and Local Tax practice. Herbert developed the approach taken by taxpayers in The Gillette Co. & Subsidiaries v. California Franchise Tax Board.

The Tax Lawyer of the Year is the Gillette litigating team of Silverstein & Pomerantz LLP, comprising Amy L. Silverstein, Edwin P. Antolin, Johanna W. Roberts, Charles E. Olson, and Lindsay T. Braunig. The team was chosen for its developing class action litigation in the Gillette case and its specialization in state and local tax controversy and in planning work on a national scale.

Organization of the Year is awarded to the Tax Foundation for the second year in a row because of its constant and reliable source of data, studies, and other fiscal information. The foundation also provides a wide range of information tools, including its widely cited annual state business tax climate index, which compares state tax structures.

The Tax Administrator of the Year is Cynthia Bridges, executive director of the California Board of Equalization. She was selected for her recent accomplishments in California as well as those in Louisiana, where she served as secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue for 12 years.

The Tax Lawmaker of the Year is Massachusetts Rep. Jay R. Kaufman (D) for his efforts to reform the Massachusetts revenue system and his state tax policy work at the federal level. Kaufman served on the Massachusetts Tax Expenditure Commission to study the effectiveness of, and make recommendations regarding, the numerous exemptions, deductions, and credits in the Massachusetts tax code.

Read about these awards here.

About Tax Analysts

Tax Analysts is an influential provider of tax news and analysis for the global community. Over 150,000 tax professionals in law and accounting firms, corporations, and government agencies rely on Tax Analysts' federal, state, and international content daily. Key products include Tax Notes, Tax Notes Today, State Tax Notes, State Tax Today, Tax Notes International, and Worldwide Tax Daily. Founded in 1970 as a nonprofit organization, Tax Analysts has the industry's largest tax-dedicated correspondent staff, with more than 250 domestic and international correspondents. For more information, visit our home page.